District Council Jhelum


COVID-19 Activities in UNIT JHELUM

  • Jhelum was established in year 1849 by the British with head Quarter at Pind Dadan Khan.

  • Its old name was Jabbi, which was replaced as Tehsil Jhelum and also became District Head Quarter in 1950.

  • It is situated on the west bank of River Jhelum.

  • Surrounding districts are Rawalpindi, Mirpur, Gujrat, Mandi Bahaudin, Sargodha, Khushab and Chakwal.

  • Jhelum existed in its physical form until 1985, when a new District Chakwal was carved of out of areas from Jhelum and Attock Districts.\

  • It had 3 Tehsils at the time of pre-devaluation in 2001 namely Tehsil Jhelum, Pind Dadan Khan and Sohawa.

  • Pre - devolution there were two Municipal Committees in Tehsil Jhelum. I.e, UNIT JHELUM
    District Council Jhelum & Municipal Committee Dina.

  • After devolution, Municipal Committee Dina merged in UNIT JHELUM.

  • In 2005 Dina was declared a separate Tehsil

  • Total Population = 904,733

  • Total Area = 858,767 Acres

Home | Contact Us | Feedback | Links
2007 UNIT JHELUM, Pakistan. All rights reserved.